h1

Aim and Shoot

April 14, 2009

Well, I’m not far away from posting what my new game looks like.  It is very difficult being an iPhone developer, in that if you look on the Appstore, there are loads of examples of copycat apps.  Tower defense games, Match 3 games etc.  This is because you cannot copyright a game, only specific elements in a game such as graphics, names etc.   To that end, I don’t want to give away too much about what my game looks like, or how it plays.  I think its unique.  Also, I dont want to give away its name, as they are also a valuable commodity – I already lost the iZoo name that I had for ages to a zoo sounds app 😦

Anyway, the point of this post is about aiming and shooting.

A lot of 3d games have crosshairs that you place over a target and shoot.  Well those games are not using a 3d missile path for shooting stuff, as evidently if you place cross hairs over something far away and shoot at it, then if something is closer to you on the same diagonal path as the missile is about to follow, then it would also get shot, but the cross hairs can only be over the one target !   My game is true 3d shooting, so I wanted to come up with something different.

I decided that having a HUD style interface that highlighted each enemy on the screen and then indicated to you whether you were either vertically or horizontally displaced from hitting it with a missile would be quite cool.  Having played it, it is still fairly difficult to hit stuff in 3D, but it does seem to work.  Afer all, this is a game, not a simulation.  After playing for a  while, you kind of get your “eye in”, and start shooting stuff naturally.  I am fairly happy that this is the way to go rather than cross hairs.

Leave a Reply

